Welcome!
Welcome to the Lister Hill Library liaison page for the School of Nursing. As liaisons we are here to make sure that you are getting the help you need with library resources, databases, searches, and training and instruction. Feel free to call us, stop by, email us, or even chat with us using the box to the right. We look forward to working with you!
Some of the things your library liaison can do for you:
- group or classroom instruction
- individual consultations
- research support
- database searching assistance and instruction
- AND we want to serve as a point person and advocate for you! If you have a need or concern, please let us know. We will make sure that the right person receives your suggestions and input!
We look forward to meeting you and working with you (whether that meeting is in-person or only online). Most importantly, remember that if you haven't found what you're looking for in 20 to 30 minutes of searching a particular database or the catalog it's time to e-mail us or ask a librarian!
--Lisa & Emma
Forence Nightingale Collection
|
|
The Florence Nightingale collection consists of 50 personal letters, dated 1853 to 1893, covering military and civil hospitals, nursing, sanitary affairs in India, and various charitable contributions. The letters were acquired by Dr. Lawrence Reynolds in February of 1951. An original photograph of Florence Nightingale was donated by the Nu Chapter of Sigma Theta Tau and the University of Alabama School of Nursing in honor of Dr. Marie O'Koren. |
The actual letters are housed in the Reynolds Historical Library, a part of LHL's Historical Collections unit.The digitized images of the letters are stored in the UAB Digital Collections along with various other electronic collections including the Pellagra in Alabama collection.
Popular Resources
- CINAHL Plus with Full-TextCumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature.
- PubMedHuge biomedical literature database maintained by the National Library of Medicine.
- Online Nursing Journals
- NAHRS Nursing Resources WikiNursing & Allied Health Resources Section of the Medical Library Association's list of free and pay nursing resources.
- Ask-A-Librarian ServiceGot a question? Ask a librarian to help you find the answer!
- Florence Nightingale CollectionDigitized correspondence of Florence Nightingale ranging in date from 1853-1893.
Feedback
Please be advised that information transmitted via LHL Guides is not protected or encrypted and the Library cannot guarantee the privacy of information communicated online. Aggregate data or number and types of comments will be collected. Comments may also be used for research and/or publication purposes.
Chat with LHL Librarians
Contact info:
LHL 110
1st Floor
205-934-2230
Text: 205-289-1275
Send us an e-mail!





Loading...
