This is the "Home" page of the "School of Public Health Liaison Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

School of Public Health Liaison Guide  

Last Updated: Apr 14, 2014 URL: http://libguides.lhl.uab.edu/publichealth Print Guide Email Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Popular Resources

  • Evidence Based Public Health Guide
    Evidence-based practice for public health involves using the best available evidence to make informed public health practice decisions.
  • PubMed
    Huge biomedical literature database maintained by the National Library of Medicine.
  • Cochrane Library
    Systematic reviews & practice guidelines for evidence-based medicine.
  • TOXNET
    Databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, & environmental health.
  • Partners in Information Access for the Public Health Workforce
    A collaboration of U.S. government agencies, public health organizations, and health sciences libraries which provides timely, convenient access to selected public health resources on the Internet.
  • Finding Health Statistics
    This guide provides resources for finding health statistics by type, location, population group, and health topic. Web resources for analyzing, querying, and understanding statistic sets are also made available.
  • Ask-A-Librarian Service
    Got a question? Ask a librarian to help you find the answer!

Submit a useful website

Know of a website your colleagues and classmates should know about? Post it here!

 

Feedback

Please be advised that information transmitted via LHL Guides is not protected or encrypted and the Library cannot guarantee the privacy of information communicated online. Aggregate data or number and types of comments will be collected. Comments may also be used for research and/or publication purposes.

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


 

Welcome!

Welcome to the Lister Hill Library liaison page for the School of Public Health. As liaisons we are here to make sure that you are getting the help you need with library resources, databases, searches, and training and instruction. Feel free to call us, stop by, email, us, or even send an instant message to us using the box to the right. We look forward to working with you!

Some of the things your library liaison can do for you:

  • group or classroom instruction
  • individual consultations
  • research support
  • database searching assistance and instruction
  • AND we want to serve as a point person and advocate for you!  If you have a need or concern, please let us know.  We will make sure that the right person receives your suggestions and input!

We look forward to meeting you and working with you (whether that meeting is in-person or only online)!

--Kay and Michael

 

Lister Hill Librarian Liaisons SoPH Spring Term Office Hours

Lister Hill Library liaisons resume office hours in Ryals 1st floor lounge the week of January 13th, with regular office hours posted below. Please visit our table in the lounge for questions about Lister Hill Library resources, services, or help with literature reviewing or other library research. (Note: We are also available as needed for individual consultations and questions outside of these posted office hours - just contact us directly as indicated below!) We wish you all a very productive Spring semester! [Note: no office hours during Spring Break, March 24-28!]

Office hours:

Monday, 2 p.m. to 3 p.m.

Wednesday, 12 noon to 1 p.m.

Thursday, 1 p.m. to 2 p.m.

Kay Hogan Smith, UAB Lister Hill Library Liaison to School of Public Health
934-2208
khogan@uab.edu
 

Michael S. Fitts, UAB Lister Hill Library Liaison to School of Public Health
934-5442
fitts@uab.edu

 

 

National Library Week Survey - T-Shirt Prize!

 

News You Can Use

Reserve your Group Study Room Online

Try out our new system for reserving study rooms and let us know what you think!

 

Afternoon Tea at Lister Hill Library Returning in April!

The new Sandella's restaurant on the first floor of Lister Hill Library (plaza level) is providing food for our April afternoon teas on Wednesday afternoons from 12:30 to 2:30, so stop by and sample their menu offerings! 

 

Sterne Library Social Sciences Certificate Program - Spring Semester

Meryvn Sterne Library is excited to announce the second semester of a certificate program specifically geared towards research in the social sciences. The program will introduce you to various resources and research strategies, and is open to all current UAB students, faculty, and staff. How does it work? The program consists of seven 60 minute sessions. To successfully complete the program and receive the Social Sciences Research Toolkit Certificate, you must attend at least 5 sessions. When does the class meet? The class will meet in Room 163 of the Sterne Library from 5:30 until 6:30 p.m. Most sessions are taught by Sterne Library public health liaison librarian Brooke Becker, with the exception of the March 18th class on public health resources, which will be taught by Lister Hill Library SoPH liaison librarian Kay Hogan Smith. Please note the following schedule of classes and topics:

  • 01/28 Introduction to Social Sciences Research Methods
  • 02/11 Data and Beyond: ICPSR
  • 02/18 Managing Information Overload: Citation Managers
  • 02/25 Not as Scary as They Seem: Finding Government Information: US Sources
  • 03/11 Going Global: Finding Information from Sources Outside the US
  • 03/18 Branching Out: Introduction to Sources for Public Health Research
  • 04/04 Where Do I Go From Here? Scholarly Communication and Funding Your Research
  • 04/15 Certificate Reception from 5:30 to 6:30 p.m. (Henley Room)

What should you expect? Each session will included demontrations of library databases, print materials and reputable web sites as well as effective search strategies and tips. You will also have the chance for hands-on research practice each week and multiple chances to win Starbucks gift cards and library travel mugs.

No registration is required - just show up! You can come for one session or all. For more information, contact Brooke Becker at Sterne Library (205-934-6364) or Kay Hogan Smith (205-934-2208). We hope to see you there!

 

Construction Update - Lister Hill Library

Construction of the new Sandella's restaurantat Lister Hill Library on the first floor is now complete! The grand opening was March 31st, right after Spring Break. Sandella’s is providing food for our April afternoon teas on Wednesday afternoons, so stop by and sample their menu offerings! Plans are also being made to renovate the first floor with additional entrances and exits, a new Information Desk (HUB), and maybe even some new study rooms! Construction will begin in phases starting in May.

 

Lister Hill Library Hours

  • Monday - Thursday:   7 a.m. to 11 p.m.
  • Friday:                           7 a.m. to 7 p.m.
  • Saturday:                      9:30 a.m. to 6 p.m.
  • Sunday:                         12 p.m. to 10 p.m.

 *We're open during Spring Break!

 

Women's Health Resources and Research

Lister Hill Library was one of nine libraries in the nation to receive funding for the Women's Health Resources Dissemination Outreach Project. The NIH Office of Research on Women's Health (ORWH) and the National Library of Medicine (NLM) partnered to fund this pilot program to promote the NLM-ORWH Women's Health Resources Web Portal and to support the ORWH Strategic Goals. As part of this project, Lister Hill Library is promoting the NLM-ORWH Women's Health Resources Portal to the university and community and promoting "The Science of Sex and Gender in Human Health" online curriculum to students and faculty. The Library has created a LibGuide with links to the portal and online curriculum as well as University resources that support women's health and research.  

Ask a Librarian

 

 

 

Worth a Look

Project Tycho is a new resource for health surveillance data from the University of Pittsburgh that provides historical statistics on contagious diseases in the U.S. from the past 125 years. The data are available in a range of levels reflecting the varying nature of reporting requirements at the time. This resource is freely available at http://www.tycho.pitt.edu/.

The UNC Health Sciences Library has created a search hedge for global health literature reviewers to add to searches that include a focus on developing countries. Unfortunately PubMed and other databases do not include articles indexed under individual developing countries in its "developing countries" MeSH heading. This search hedge addresses that shortfall. To copy and paste this search string into your searches, go to the UNC Global Health Toolkit and click on the link under "Developing Country Search Terms."

Have you ever wished for a tool that would incorporate the impact of your research beyond published journals? Take a look at ImpactStory, which describes the current research into "altmetrics," or alternative metrics of scholarly impact based on online use. Developed by Jason Priem, a doctoral student at UNC Chapel Hill (with support from the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation), this initiative has the potential to revolutionize scholarly communication - or, as Priem himself puts it, "bring scholarly communication out of the 17th century." Check it out at http://impactstory.org/.

The Measurement Learning & Evaluation Project (MLE) for the Urban Reproductive Health Initiative has released its Measuring Success Toolkit. Are you planning a health program? Monitoring or evaluating a program? The Toolkit provides a framework to help you identify what kinds of questions research, monitoring and evaluation can answer to guide program design and implementation. It also provides links to resources to put ideas into action. (Users with limited or no Internet access can order the Toolkit on CD - email contactus@urbanreproductivehealth.org to inquire.)

In case you missed it, the Institute of Medicine (IOM) published its final report, For the Public's Health: Investing in a Healthier Future. The report assesses the funding of public health in the United States, and makes recommendations "to building a sustainable and sufficient public health presence going forward, while recognizing the importance of the other actors in the health system." The summary report and slides, as well as the prepublication PDF are freely available for downloading on the IOM site at http://www.iom.edu/Reports/2012/For-the-Publics-Health-Investing-in-a-Healthier-Future.aspx.

The WHO/AFRO Library has made available an index to African medical literature and resources called African Index Medicus. This resource addresses a notable gap in health and biomedical information sources focusing on the African continent. Approximately 156 journals are indexed in this database currently, and dissertations and grey literature are included as well. For more information about this important new global health resource go to http://indexmedicus.afro.who.int/.

The U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) has released a guide Communicating Risks and Benefits: An Evidence-Based User's Guide for free download at http://www.fda.gov/AboutFDA/ReportsManualsForms/Reports/ucm268078.htm. Effective risk communication is essential to the well-being of any organization, public or private, and those people who depend on it. Ineffective communication can cost lives, money and reputations. Communicating Risks and Benefits provides the scientific foundations for effective communications in an easy to use format. 

 

Your Liaisons

Kay Hogan Smith
Kay Hogan Smith
Associate Professor
Community Services Librarian
khogan@uab.edu

(205) 934-2208

 

Michael S. Fitts
Assistant Professor
Assistant Director for Access and Document Delivery Services
fitts@uab.edu
(205) 934-5442
 

Chat with LHL Librarians

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Contact info:
LHL 110
1st Floor
205-934-2230
Text: 205-289-1275
Send us an e-mail!

 

LHL Calendar of Events

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip