50 Apps in 50 Minutes Class
Find information about the apps featured in the 50 Apps in 50 Minutes class on April 10th, 2013.
On This Page
On this page you'll find:
Tools for Clinicians
Blausen Human Atlas HD Lite includes a 360 degree rotatable human body figure, narrated 3D animations, and a 1,500+ term medical glossary. iOS. Free. Full version for $29.99.
Cancer Terms Pro Professional level oncological glossary containing thousands of oncological terms. iOS. $1.99.
Diagnosaurus is a reference tool to aid differential diagnosis. Includes over 1,000 diagnoses that are browsable & searchable. For iOS, Android, & Windows Mobile $1.99. Free for Palm, & BlackBerry. Mobile site version available for free through AccessMedicine Mobile after you create a free account. For information on setting up free access to the mobile site see Diagnosaurus on the databases page. Mobile site does not allow you to save favorites, all other features and content are the same.
DynaMed is a clinical care and point of care reference database. Find evidence-based summaries for over 3,200 topics. UAB affiliates can access DynaMed for free via Skyscape. Follow these instructions to set up DynaMed through Skyscape. For iOS, Android, & Blackberry. Free through Skyscape.
First Consult is an ideal app for answering evidence-based questions at the point of care. Extensive content is downloaded with the apps initial download so content can be accessed without Internet connectivity. For iOS. Free; To access First Consult for free via UAB's institutional subscription create a personal account.
MediBabble Translator is a medical translation tool for examinations and taking histories. Contains Spanish with additional free downloads for other languages. Contains playable recordings and questions. For iOS. Free.
Read by QxMD is a great option for reading articles from journals Lister Hill subscribes to. Set up your account and select UAB as your instituion and set your preferences to display your favorite journals. Free for iOS.

uCentral lets you search MEDLINE and use the ABX Guide. It is free to UAB users and has better search and limit features than many of the PubMed apps. For information on setting up the uCentral app see the uCentral page of this guide. iOS, Android, Windows, RIM. Free to UAB users.
Visible Body is another anatomy app. Highly recommended by the iMedical App blog. For iOS, Android, & PC/Mac. $34.99.
Visual Dx includes thousands of images to aid diagnosis of dermatological and other visual conditions. For iOS, and Android. Free for UAB affiliates through Lister Hill's subscription to Visual Dx.
Drug Apps
Epocrates is a mobile drug reference resource for point of care use. The app offers clinical information on thousands of prescription medications and the drug interaction checker allows you to check up to 30 drugs at a time. For iOS, BlackBerry, Palm, Android, & Windows Mobile. Free. Premium version with additional tools require subscription. Several subscription levels are offered ranging from $100 to $200 per year.
MicroMedex Drug Information provides comprehensive drug information through an unbiased editorial process. Internet connection is not required after initial download. For iOS, and Android. Free.
UAB affiliates have free access to the Johns Hopkins ABX Guide through uCentral. The ABX Guide provides current, authoritative, comprehensive information on anti-microbial agents, infectious diseases, and commonly-encountered pathogens. Includes expert recommendations, clinical and diagnostic decision-making tools, and drug-to-drug interactions. For information on setting up the uCentral app see the uCentral page of this guide. iOS, Android, Windows, RIM. Free to UAB users.
Skyscape RxDrugs Dosing Companion provides dosing guidelines on thousands of brand name and generic drugs and includes approximately 400 weight-based drug dosing calculators. For iPhone, iPad, & iPod Touch. Download Skyscape and search RxDrugs in the Skyscape store to add this free component. Free.
News & Continuing Education
MedPage Today Mobile offers breaking medical news, audio & video reports and free CME/CE courses for physicians & other health care professionals. For iPhone, iOS. Free.
Medscape offers useful reference tools including drug reference and interaction checker, procedures reference and daily medical news and alerts. For iOS, Android, & BlackBerry. Free.
Medical Radio contains medical content from ReachMD with programming from their satellite radio channel in the form of podcasts and free CME/CEs with exams you can take directly from your iPhone. For iOS & Blackberry. Free.






Submit
Loading...
