EndNoteEndNote Online (formerly EndNote Web)
More in PubMedTest InstrumentsGrey LiteratureCited ReferencesPatents
This is the "About GS" page of the "Google Scholar" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Google Scholar  

Tips for using Google Scholar, including how to find articles, test instruments, patents, cited references, and grey literature, set up email alerts, and export citations to EndNote.
Last Updated: Oct 17, 2013 URL: http://libguides.lhl.uab.edu/googlescholar Print Guide Email Alerts

About GS Print Page
  Search: 
 

Google Scholar Quick Search

Don't pay for full text! Set your Google Scholar preferences to show when Lister Hill Library has full text of articles. Use Illiad to request articles Lister Hill doesn't have.



 

Tips for Searching Google Scholar

Use quotes for author, title, or exact phrase

Use + to include a stop word (a, the, for), words that would otherwise be ignored

Use to exclude results including the term: Halo –Xbox

Use OR to include either of your search terms: Incidence OR prevalence

Use  Advanced Scholar Search to find specific citations

 

About Google Scholar

  • Provides an easy way to search the scholarly literature
  • Searches across many disciplines  
  • Finds papers, theses, books, abstracts, articles, citations, and working papers that can be difficult to find
  • Searches full text of entire article 
  • Ranks results by relevancy, not date (user can choose date range to see historical or new articles)
  • Can be customized under Scholar Preferences to show links to Lister Hill Library full text, when available
 

Google Scholar: Basic Search

The following 6-minute tutorial demonstrates how to do a search and access full text in Google Scholar.

 

Google Scholar Blog

Google maintains an official Google Scholar blog, which highlights the latest and greatest tricks and features of Google Scholar. Here are the most recent posts to this blog:

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

Chat with LHL Librarians

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.


Contact info:
LHL 110
1st floor
205-934-2230
Send us an e-mail

 

How Google Scholar Ranks Results

The results are relevancy ranked. Google Scholar explains that it "aims to rank documents the way researchers do, weighing the full text of each document, where it was published, who it was written by, as well as how often and how recently it has been cited in other scholarly literature."

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip