This is the "Databases & Resources" page of the "School of Dentistry Liaison Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

School of Dentistry Liaison Guide  

Last Updated: Apr 23, 2014 URL: http://libguides.lhl.uab.edu/dentistry Print Guide Email Alerts

Databases & Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome!

Welcome to the Lister Hill Library liaison page for the School of Dentistry. As liaisons we are here to make sure that you are getting the help you need with library resources, databases, searches, and training and instruction. Feel free to contact us anytime. Office hours at the School of Dentistry student lounge are by appointment.  

Some of the things your library liaison can do for you:

  • group or classroom instruction
  • individual consultations
  • research support
  • database searching assistance and instruction
  • AND we want to serve as a point person and advocate for you!  If you have a need or concern, please let us know.  We will make sure that the right person receives your suggestions and input!

We look forward to meeting you and working with you (whether that meeting is in-person or only online)!

 Lee

 

Handouts from Library Orientation

Databases

  • PubMed
    Access to abstracts and full text articles in dentistry and the biomedical sciences.
  • Cochrane Library
    Systematic reviews & practice guidelines for evidence-based medicine.
  • DOSS- Dentistry and Oral Sciences Source
    Includes journals covering all areas of dentistry.
  • Scopus  
      
    Abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources from 1996 forward.
  • UpToDate
    Clinical information tool with over 70,000 pages of peer-reviewed, fully-referenced, & illustrated topic reviews with related charts, x-rays, photographs, movies & MEDLINE abstracts.
  • AMA Manual of Style: A Guide for Authors and Editors  
      
    Everything you need to produce well-organized, clear, and readable manuscripts. This guide is also available in print at the library. (1st Floor Reference Collection: WZ 345 AM35s 2007).
  • UAB Ethics for Authors
  • JCR Web
    Journal Citation Reports. Choose "View a group of journals by Subject Category" and click "Submit". Type "D" to locate Dentistry, Oral Surgery, and Medicine. Click "Submit" to view the list and Eigenfactor Score.
  • Endnote Web
    Online bibliographic management software.
    Must create individual account after authenticating with Blazer ID & password when off campus
  • Google Scholar
    Provides access to citations of scholarly literature.
  • Pubget
    PDF search engine for the life sciences.

Contact Lee, Dental Liaison (interim)

Profile Image
Lee Vucovich
Logo - Google TalkLogo - LinkedInLogo - SkypeLogo - TwitterLogo - Yahoo IM
Contact Info
Lister Hill Library 110
934-2230
Send Email
 

Chat with LHL Librarians

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Contact info:
LHL 110
1st Floor
205-934-2230
Text: 205-289-1275
Send us an e-mail!

 

Feedback

Please be advised that information transmitted via LHL Guides is not protected or encrypted and the Library cannot guarantee the privacy of information communicated online. Aggregate data or number and types of comments will be collected. Comments may also be used for research and/or publication purposes.

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip