Skip to main content
Banner Image

Graduate Biomedical Sciences and JHS Departments:
Home

Welcome

This is the LHL Library Liaison page for Graduate Biomedical Sciences and the Joint Health Sciences Departments.  As liaison, I want to make sure that our library is meeting your needs to support research, teaching, and clinical care. Use the tabs above to learn more about research resources, tips for using them effectively, and targeted news items.

Your Library Liaison

As your personal librarian, I can provide services including:

  • Research support
  • Individual consultations
  • Expert literature searches
  • Assistance with systematic reviews
  • EndNote support
  • Guidance in integrating library resources into course shells
  • Presentations and instruction for faculty, staff and students
  • Assistance with complying with the NIH Public Access Policy

 Help me to understand your needs better! Invite me to:

  • Meet you in person, by phone, or online through email or IM
  • Attend departmental or research team meetings
  • Participate in journal clubs

I look forward to working with you!

Please use the tabs above the box to learn how to find what you need from Lister Hill Library!

What's New?

Great News! Embase and 1800+ New Journals Added

 UAB Libraries is pleased to announce the addition of Elsevier’s ScienceDirect Journal & Ebook Collection!

  • ScienceDirect is a full-text scientific database of peer-reviewed science, technology, and health articles and book chapters from almost 2,200 active journals and more than 30,000 books. To find content:
  • Use the ejournals and ebooks search at www.uab.edu/lister
  • Link to the Science Direct Freedom Collection using  ArticleLinker in databases like PubMed.
  • Access the ScienceDirect website by searching for “S” on the databases page and selecting ScienceDirect. 

UAB Libraries has also added access to the often requested Embase database.

  • Embase is a biomedical and pharmacologic database with extensive international journal and conference coverage. It is useful for comprehensive or  systematic literature reviews, supporting effective evidence-based practice and in drug and medical device tracking.  Embase includes in-depth coverage of pharmacology, pharmaceutics, and toxicology.
  • Access Embase through the LHL databases page.
  • Get started by downloading the Embase Quick User Guide here.  Embase includes an extensive set of limits and the ability to include only records from EMBASE that are not included in Medline. See videos and handouts under the databases tab at the top of the page.

 

Questions?   Ask a Librarian or contact me directly.

Contact Lee

Lee Vucovich
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
Contact:
Lister Hill Library 110

934-2230
Website / Blog Page

NIH Public Access Policy Support

Need Help?  LHL provides assistance  in finding and obtaining PMCIDs, submitting manuscripts and following the approval process.


© Lister Hill Library of the Health Sciences ι University of Alabama at Birmingham ι Birmingham, AL 35294-0013 ι (205) 934-2230 ι About Us ιContact Us ι Disclaimer