Skip to main content
Banner Image

School of Nursing Liaison Guide: Home

Meet Your Liaison

Welcome UAB School of Nursing!  I'm your Lister Hill Library Liaison.  

My name is Jill Deaver.  As your liaison, I am here to make sure that you are getting the help you need with library resources, databases, searches, training and instruction. Feel free to call, stop by, email, or even chat with me using the box below--just ask for Jill to see if I'm logged in.  If I'm not, another reference librarian will help you, or take your contact information so that I can get in touch later.    

How we work together and what I can do for you:

  • weekly library rounds for SON faculty-- most Wednesdays 9-10am, alternating between 3rd, 4th, and 5th floors

  • group or classroom instruction, virtual or face-to-face

  • individual consultations, virtual or face-to-face

  • research support, from troubleshooting EndNote to assisting with literature searches

​Most importantly, remember that if you haven't found what you're looking for in 20 to 30 minutes of searching a particular database or the catalog it's time to ask a librarian

I look forward to meeting you and working with you.  

Email me: jilld@uab.edu

Call me: 205-934-2230

Forence Nightingale Collection

The Florence Nightingale collection consists of 50 personal letters, dated 1853 to 1893, covering military and civil hospitals, nursing, sanitary affairs in India, and various charitable contributions. The letters were acquired by Dr. Lawrence Reynolds in February of 1951. An original photograph of Florence Nightingale was donated by the Nu Chapter of Sigma Theta Tau and the University of Alabama School of Nursing in honor of Dr. Marie O'Koren.

The actual letters are housed in the Reynolds Historical Library, a part of LHL's Historical Collections unit. The digitized images of the letters are stored in the UAB Digital Collections along with various other electronic collections including the Pellagra in Alabama collection.

Popular Resources

Chat with LHL Librarians

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

 

Contact info:
LHL 110
1st Floor
205-934-2230
Text: 205-289-1275
Send us an e-mail!


© Lister Hill Library of the Health Sciences ι University of Alabama at Birmingham ι Birmingham, AL 35294-0013 ι (205) 934-2230 ι About Us ιContact Us ι Disclaimer